contact us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right.

Seattle, WA

(206) 249-9909

AAF Seattle is the Western Washington chapter of the American Advertising Federation, serving Seattle's creative community through events, education and advocacy.

Silver medal-color.jpg

The AAF Silver Medal Award

At each ADDY event we bestow the Silver Medal Award upon a local industry great whose career grew bigger than the work. Someone who affected lives, not just through the results of their work but in how they performed it. Silver Medal Award winners are the shining examples of who we can hope to be.


About the AAF Silver medal Award

The American Advertising Federation’s Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence, and responsibility in areas of social concern.

Each year, our AAF chapter bestows this honor upon an outstanding member of the Seattle advertising community.

The 2019 AAF Silver Medal Award RECIPIENT Will Be Betti Fujikado

Congratulations to Betti Fujikado, a unanimous selection by our panel!

Betti will be honored at the 2019 American Advertising Awards Seattle gala at Motif Seattle on March 29th.

Tickets are in limited supply and will sell out so get yours today.

Recipient Criteria

The Silver Medal Award winner is selected by a panel of past winners based on the following criteria:

  • Contributions to their company. The recipient must have successfully led an ad agency, advertiser, media outlet or advertising service in the Seattle area.

  • Creative ability. No matter which discipline they’re in, the recipient must have worked to raise standards in the advertising profession.

  • Contributions to the advancement of advertising. The recipient must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.

  • Contributions to the community. The recipient should be actively involved as someone who gives back to the community.

2018 recipient: Terry Heckler

It’s 2018 and we’re giving Terry Hecker the AAF Silver Medal Award. At long last, things are right in the Seattle advertising universe. Over his legendary career Terry has earned numerous awards and honors, but the elusive Silver Medal has finally found its rightful place on his likely crowded shelf.

There is a small committee comprised of previous winners who through their iconic campaigns, taglines, and agencies helped construct the modern advertising landscape of Seattle. This year, they proclaimed that Terry Heckler would no longer go unrecognized. “It’s about time,” we all responded.

Over four decades ago, Terry first put his astonishing mark on the world of advertising, branding, and well, all of us, by both naming and designing the logo for Starbucks. However, it was with the Rainier Beer TV spots that Heckler truly cemented himself in the hearts of the region. I asked Terry why all his Rainier ads resonated with the locals so strongly.

“We simply reminded them it was their beer... not St. Louis, Olympia, or Portland. Instead of doing another flashy beer pour and running it over and over we did 6-7 completely different spots, randomly running them within the 13-week cycle. We wanted viewers to be entertained enough to watch them and talk about them... They did.”

The AAF Silver Medal Award signifies the splendid career of an advertising legend. This year, the Silver Medal Committee found a treasured genius who had been overlooked in years past and decided to rectify that mistake. In 2018 we are very proud to say the AAF Silver Medal Award belongs to Terry Heckler.

- excerpted and condensed from the 2018 ADDY Show Book

previous Silver Medal Award winners:

  • Cynthia Hartwig - 2017

  • John Schofield – 2016

  • Larry Asher – 2015

  • John Brown – 2014

  • Bob Peterson – 2013

  • Ron Elgin – 2012

  • Tracy Wong & Pat Doody – 2011

  • Jim Copacino – 2010

  • Dick Hadley – 2009